Review: Essence Liquid Ink Eyeliner Waterproof

essence liner

Hello, today I’m bringing you a review from a brand that I’ve been wanting to try for a long time. Essence is a German brand with affordable cruelty-free products, and I chose a well-spoken eyeliner as my first product from them, the Liquid Ink Eyeliner Waterproof.

Website’s description:

This is the must-have eyeliner! The liquid ink eyeliner waterproof with the special fine tip applicator makes applying an accurate, black line as easy as child’s play for gorgeous eyes.

 This eyeliner costed 3,19€ and it has 0.1fl.oz/3ml of product that expires in 6 months. It has a brush applicator, it’s waterproof and it has a matte finish. For reference, I made 2 tests with this eyeliner, one of them with a 14 hours period of time and not wearing any kind of eye primer.

Let me tell you something about this eyeliner: this is the best goddamn thing I’ve ever tried, and believe me when I say this. I’ve bought it impulsively (I know I shouldn’t do it but it was so cheap that I wouldn’t regret the money even if it sucked) and it turned out to be one hell of an eyeliner.

The formula itself is a bit watery, which is something I’m still getting used to because I never used this type of eyeliner, but it’s truly black and opaque. It takes about 30 seconds to dry which I consider an advantage because let’s be honest, I never get a winged eyeliner right at first and it makes it easier to clean, and it doesn’t bleed when applied.

Now, the brush is the thing that stops the eyeliner from being absolutely perfect: the tip isn’t sharp enough and it picks up a lot of product, but I can still make it work.

I rubbed my eyes slightly because of an itch a few hours after application, and the eyeliner flaked a tiny bit that I only noticed when I was standing really close to a mirror; I eventually covered that tiny flake and it reapplied really well, not making it look weird or as if it looked like it was layered.

The eyeliner lasted for 14 hours and it looked like when I applied for the first time: the wing looked perfect, and this is a big deal for me since the wings usually tend to fade for some reason. The eyeliner didn’t flake for itself, didn’t look smudged, didn’t lose any pigmentation.

When it comes to removal, this eyeliner is so easy to clean off. When I did the 14-hour test, I ran out of micellar water and I had to take off my makeup with soap and water; the eyeliner came off completely without leaving any residue. This is also a big advantage for me because the previous Sephora eyeliner  I had (you can see my review on it here) was a complete pain in the ass to take off.

I highly recommend you to try this eyeliner, the formula is ridiculously amazing and it leaves me questioning why the hell are Essence selling this for such a low price. The only con I have is the brush not being sharp enough but it’s still worth trying. I’m still getting used to this type of eyeliner because I’m more familiar with pens, and if this eyeliner was a pen with a nice stiff sharp point, it would be my Holy Grail eyeliner for sure.

Overall I give this eyeliner a 9/10.

What do you think about this eyeliner? Have you found your holy grail eyeliner yet? Let me know in the comments!

Essence Liquid Ink Eyeliner Waterproof – Portugal

Essence Liquid Ink Eyeliner Waterproof- UK

Twitter // Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

